Instructional Fees (Contingent, Student Services, and Academic Facilities Fees)
Indiana residents who are undergraduate students pay a combined contingent, student services, academic facilities fee, and technology fee of $211.93 per credit hour. In-state graduate students pay a total of $309.27 per credit hour.
The combined contingent and academic facilities fees are used to help meet the cost of instruction, construction and maintenance of buildings, and library and laboratory resources. The student services fee provides student programs and other selected personal and cultural development activities.
Undergraduate students who are not residents of the State of Indiana for fee purposes pay a non-resident fee of $507.09 per credit hour. Non-resident graduate students pay a non-resident fee of $609.84 per credit hour.
Audit Fee. An audit fee of $35 plus applicable lab fees are charged to qualified students who desire to attend an undergraduate class open for auditing. The audit student attends the class without participating in the recitation and without credit.
Application Fee. Students submitting an application for Graduate and Undergraduate Studies must remit a $40 nonrefundable application fee.
Distance Education Delivery Fee. A $30 distance education fee is assessed for each distance education course. Distance education courses also may have additional fees that are course-specific.
Enrollment Fee. A $100 fee charged to all new students their first semester of attendance.
Health Professions Insurance. A $20 fee is assessed to students enrolled in courses that involve course work with direct patient care.
Health Services Fee. The USI Student Health Center provides students with services typically offered in a primary-care setting. The enrollment fee of $47 per semester covers office visits and certain basic services.
Laboratory Fees. Charges ranging from $35 to $200 are made to all students who enroll in selected courses. These charges and courses are identified at each registration period.
Late Registration Fee. A fee of $35 will be assessed to a student who registers during the first week of a term. A fee of $125 will be assessed to a student who enrolls at anytime subsequent to the end of the first week of classes
Matriculation Fee. First-time registrants will be assessed a matriculation fee. This fee will be used to fund expenditures in the areas of student orientation, welcome week, and various other student development programs. A first-time student enrollee will be charged $100.
Parking Fine. The Office of Security may assess fines for parking and traffic violations in accordance with University of Southern Indiana traffic regulations.
Replacement of Student Eagle Access Card Fee. A fee of $10 will be charged to students who apply for a replacement Eagle Access card.
Special Course Fee. Charges not exceeding $500 are assessed to students enrolled in certain courses. The amount of this fee will vary by course.
Student Activity Fee. All students will be assessed a non-mandatory $50 per semester student activity fee. This fee is used to support the University Recreation and Fitness Center, Intramural Recreational Services, and various student programs.
Transportation and Parking Fee. All students who attend classes on campus will be assessed a transportation and parking fee. Students who register for three or fewer hours per semester will be charged $54. Students who register for more than three and fewer than eight credit hours per semester will be charged $72. Students who register for eight or more credit hours per semester will be charged $90.
University Services Fee. The University Services Fee funds expenditures in the areas of student publications, the O'Daniel Leadership Academy, and other student development programs. Students who register for eight or more credit hours per fall or spring semester will be charged a $30 University Services Fee. Students who register for more than three and fewer than eight credit hours per fall and spring semester will be charged $22.75. Students who register for three or fewer hours per fall or spring semester will be charged a University Services Fee of $10.
Fall and spring semesters: Students who drop one or more courses during the first week of a semester will receive a 100 percent refund of fees; during the second week of a semester, a 75 percent refund; during the third week of a semester, a 50 percent refund; and during the fourth week of a semester, a 25 percent refund. No refund will be made for courses dropped thereafter. This policy is applicable to both class schedule changes and withdrawals from the University.
Summer sessions: Students who drop a course or withdraw from the University on the first or second day of a summer session (first day of third summer) will receive a 100 percent refund; on the third or fourth day of classes (second day of third summer), a 75 percent refund; on the fifth or sixth day of classes (third day of third summer), a 50 percent refund; and on the seventh or eighth day of classes (fourth day of third summer), a 25 percent refund. No refund will be given for dropped courses or withdrawals after the eighth day of a summer session (fourth day of third summer.
Registered students must remit payment or enter into the University's payment plan by the due date on the billing statement. Fees may be paid by using MasterCard, VISA, Discover card, American Express, cash, personal check, e-check, or money order. A 2.70 percent convenience fee will be assessed for all credit card payments.
The fee rates cited here are for the 2013-14 academic year. The Board of Trustees sets fee rates annually, inflationary increases are expected for 2014-15 and beyond. Visit www.usi.edu/admission/tuition-fees or contact the Bursar's Office at the University after July 1 for actual fees for the 2014-2015 academic year.