Jul 23, 2024  
2024-2025 Undergraduate Bulletin 
2024-2025 Undergraduate Bulletin

USI Athletics

USI AthleticsThe University of Southern Indiana subscribes to the precepts and fundamental policies of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA). The University believes a well-conducted intercollegiate athletic program, based on sound educational principles and practices, is a proper part of its mission, and the educational welfare of participating student athletes is of primary concern.

The University of Southern Indiana is a member of the NCAA Division I and the Ohio Valley Conference (OVC). Nineteen intercollegiate athletic teams participate in competition at the NCAA Division I level. There are ten women’s teams (basketball, cross country, indoor & outdoor track and field, golf, soccer, softball, swimming & diving, tennis, and volleyball) and nine men’s teams (baseball, basketball, cross country, indoor & outdoor track and field, golf, soccer, swimming & diving and tennis). The intercollegiate athletic program gives student athletes an opportunity to use their talents while pursuing their studies.

Currently 10 other schools compete in the Ohio Valley Conference along with the University of Southern Indiana: University of Arkansas at Little Rock, Eastern Illinois University, Morehead State University, Lindenwood University, Southeast Missouri State University, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, Tennessee State University, Tennessee Technological University, University of Tennessee Martin, and Western Illinois University.

The University of Southern Indiana won the NCAA Division II National Championships in men’s basketball (1995), baseball (2010, 2014), and softball (2018). The Screaming Eagles also were the national finalist twice in men’s basketball (1994 and 2004) and once in women’s basketball (1997), while the baseball team reached the national semifinals in 2007.

The first individual national championship was Elly Rono’s cross country title in 1997. Rono followed with a pair of track national championships in 1998, while Heather Cooksey and Candace Perry won national championships in track in 2004 and 2005. Mary Ballenger became the fourth national champion in track during the 2009 outdoor season. In 2014, Johnnie Guy became the fifth national champion in track in the 10,000 meters during the outdoor season. Tyler Pence added championships six and seven for USI by winning the 5,000 meter title indoors and the 10,000 meter title outdoors, both in 2015. In 2017, Bastian Grau added championship eight for USI when he won the mile indoor title.

In addition to excellence on the field and playing court, USI students have excelled in the classroom. Since 1993, USI student athletes have earned numerous Academic All-America awards and GLVC Scholar Athlete of the Year honors. The Eagles also have an overall average grade point average of 3.30.

The University abides by the guidelines of Title IX regulations, thus providing equity in men’s and women’s sports. Financial support for athletics is derived from admission fees, student fees, advertising, and contributions from the Varsity Club, business and industry, and individuals.